Reservoir 13: A Novel (Pre-order)
Reservoir 13: A Novel (Pre-order)

Reservoir 13: A Novel (Pre-order)

$ 16.95

Pre-orders will ship on October 1, 2017.

LONG-LISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017
“Unforgettable. . . . An ambitious tour de force that demands the reader’s attention; those willing to follow along will be rewarded with a singular and haunting story.” Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review)
"McGregor masterfully employs a free, indirect style that forgoes quotation marks and seamlessly blends narrative, dialogue, and wonderfully observant, poetic musings. . . . Longlisted for the Man Booker, McGregor’s novel’s subtly devastating impact ultimately imparts wisdom about the tenuous and priceless gift of life. For fans of Elizabeth Strout and Richard Russo."Booklist (starred review)
"A wonderful book. [Jon McGregor]'s an extraordinary writer, unlike anyone else." —Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train and Into the Water 

"To read John McGregor's novel Reservoir 13 is to read a thousand tiny poems in quick succession. In fragments and glimpses of a small village in England, McGregor brilliantly contrasts the urgency of life with the banality of living. As the seasons progress and relationships ebb and flow, Reservoir 13's lyrical prose and pulsing rhythms combine to make these ordinary stories extraordinary." —David Enyeart, Common Good Books (St. Paul, MN)

Midwinter in an English village. A teenage girl has gone missing. Everyone is called upon to join the search. The villagers fan out across the moors as the police set up roadblocks and a crowd of news reporters descends on what is usually a place of peace. Meanwhile, there is work that must still be done: cows milked, fences repaired, stone cut, pints poured, beds made, sermons written, a pantomime rehearsed.

As the seasons unfold and the search for the missing girl goes on, there are those who leave the village and those who are pulled back; those who come together and those who break apart. There are births and deaths; secrets kept and exposed; livelihoods made and lost; small kindnesses and unanticipated betrayals. An extraordinary novel of cumulative power and grace, Reservoir 13 explores the rhythms of the natural world and the repeated human gift for violence, unfolding over thirteen years as the aftershocks of a tragedy refuse to subside.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Jon McGregor is the author of four novels and a story collection. He is the winner of the IMPAC Dublin Literature Prize, Betty Trask Prize, and Somerset Maugham Award, and has twice been long-listed for the Man Booker Prize. He is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Nottingham, England, where he edits The Letters Page, a literary journal in letters.