About Us


Catapult is an innovative publishing venture created by the founders of Electric Literature  and Black Balloon Publishing. The company includes a book publishing program of the highest literary caliber, a robust series of writing classes, and a daily web magazine of narrative nonfiction and fiction, as well as resources and community for aspiring writers.

Catapult nurtures and supports writers. We strive to be a successful model for the future of independent publishing.

Catapult Book Group is a collection of imprints that includes Catapult, Counterpoint Press, and Soft Skull Press.

Since our launch in Fall 2015, Catapult’s books and authors have won numerous major literary awards, include the American Academy of Arts and Letters E. M. Forster Award in Literature, the Maine Literary Award, the Costa Novel Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Our books have been finalists for many other prizes, including the Man Booker Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Goldsmith Prize, the Miles Franklin Award, the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, the PEN America Open Book Award, the California Book Award for First Fiction, the Stella Prize, and the Desmond Elliott Prize for New Fiction. Our books are frequently named to the American Booksellers Association Indie Next List, and have been featured as Amazon’s Best Books of the Year, Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year, Reese’s Book Club and Belletrist Book Club picks, and as The New York Times Editors’ Choice selections. Our titles have been praised in The New York Times, The New Yorker, NPR, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and many other outlets. To learn more, click here.

Our Spring 2023 catalog can be found here.

Our Fall 2022 catalog can found here.



For general queriescontact@catapult.co

For submissions: visit our  Submittable page

For media queries related to our books: contact our VP, Associate Publisher/Director of Publicity, Megan Fishmann.

To report piracy: contact@catapult.co



Elizabeth Koch, Co-founder & CEO

Alyson Forbes, Publisher/COO



Dan Smetanka, Editorial Director, Catapult/Counterpoint/Soft Skull

Kendall Storey, Editor-in-Chief, Catapult Books

Alicia Kroell, Editor

Elizabeth Pankova, Editorial Assistant

Julie Buntin, Editor at Large, Catapult; Director Emeritus, Writing Programs



Rachel Fershleiser, Associate Publisher, Executive Director of Marketing

Dustin Kurtz, Social Media Editor

Kira Weiner, Events Coordinator

Alyssa Lo, Marketing Assistant



Megan Fishmann, VP, Associate Publisher, Senior Director of Publicity

Lena Moses-Schmitt, Assistant Director of Publicity

Selihah White, Publicist

Vanessa Genao, Publicity Assistant



Alyson Forbes, COO and Publisher

Miriam Vance, Contracts & Rights Associate, Awards Coordinator

Katie Mantele, Sales & Marketing Associate



Nicole Caputo, Creative Director

Farjana Yasmin, Designer

Victoria Maxfield, Design Assistant



Wah-Ming Chang, VP, Senior Managing Editor

Olenka Burgess, Production Manager

Laura Berry, Production Editor

Tracy Danes, Production Assistant